Todd Copley Elected Secretary/Treasurer at Biennial Convention This Weekend

URBANDALE – In convention this weekend, the delegates of AFSCME Council 61 unanimously elected Rick Eilander to be the next Council President. Eilander has been a union representative with the council since 2006, and most recently was an organizer working with locals and bargaining units to expand the reach of the union in their workplaces.

“Public workers need an advocate and a fighter in their corner. AFSCME Council 61 has been there for decades, and that will continue as long as I am President,” said President Eilander. “I want to thank President Danny Homan for his years of steadfast leadership that saw this council continue to thrive during his 16 years as president. I want to also thank the members of this council for putting their faith and trust in me. Public employees are the ones that keep Iowa, Missouri, and Kansas running, but far too often they are overlooked or attacked by elected leaders. It will continue to be the mission of this council to ensure that these public heroes are shown the respect they deserve, whether that’s at the bargaining table, the state house, or in Washington. I am excited to take on this new role, so now let’s get to work!”

Rick Eilander is a native of Newton, Iowa, who grew up in a union household. In 1994, he became a member of AFSCME first as a jailer and then chief jailer with the Jasper County Sheriff’s Office before joining the Department of Corrections in 1996 at the Newton Correctional Facility. While there he was a steward and ended as chief steward of AFSCME Local 451. In 2006, he joined the staff of AFSCME Council 61 as a union representative where he has managed contracts and helped organize locals to expand membership and train members to be effective advocates in their workplace.

Eilander was nominated for the position by outgoing Council 61 President Danny Homan, who is stepping down after 16 years. “I have known Rick Eilander for more than 20 years. He is dedicated. He is passionate. He is committed to making sure our members have a fair shake. I know he will do a tremendous job as President, and he will have my utmost support.”

AFSCME International President Lee Saunders was on hand for the convention. “Rick Eilander is a dedicated trade unionist and an unrelenting advocate for everyday heroes who work in public service,” said AFSCME International President Lee Saunders. “My friend Danny Homan’s retirement leaves big shoes to fill, but I know that Rick will be equal to the task. Rick has the skills, the smarts and the drive to lead Council 61 forward. On behalf of 1.4 million AFSCME members nationwide, I want to congratulate Rick and pledge the International Union’s support as he tackles the challenges ahead.”

Local 1868 President Todd Copley was elected Secretary/Treasurer of Council 61. “Thank you to the members who have elected me to this role. Throughout my career I have fought to make sure the voice of public employees is heard. I look forward to working with President Eilander, the staff, and our tremendous members to making this happen throughout Iowa, Missouri, and Kansas.”

AFSCME Council 61 represents more than 55,000 employees in over 230 bargaining units across Iowa, Missouri, and Kansas.

Below is a list of all officers elected at the AFSCME Council 61 Convention this weekend.

  • Rick Eilander, Council 61 President
  • Todd Copley, Council 61 Secretary/Treasurer
  • Scott Thompson, District 1 Vice President
  • Stacy Biondi, District 1 Vice President
  • Susan Rowe, District 2 Vice President
  • Mike Morse, District 2 Vice President
  • Daryl Erickson, District 3 Vice President
  • Chris DeHarty, District 3 Vice President
  • Curt Salow, District 4 Vice President
  • Shelly Hill, District 4 Vice President
  • Jeremy Martin, District 5 Vice President
  • Terry Nixon, District 5 Vice President
  • Richard Frauenholz, District 6 Vice President
  • Ray Druger, District 6 Vice President
  • Michelle Mason, District 7 Vice President
  • Andrew Washburn, District 7 Vice President
  • Joe Lilly, Council Trustee
  • Jeff Moffitt, Council Trustee
  • Allison Ritchie, Council Trustee